View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
storworks
Joined: 20 Sep 2011 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 8:36 pm Post subject: Pre filling form from applicaton does not work |
|
|
I want users to fill in registration information at the end of my application install, then I open a web page with a mycontactform on it.
Using the following string from my application is not accepted by the form to auto fill it in.
http://www.storworks.com/registration.html?username=user&company_name=AAA&email=test@test.com&phone=111-111-1111®istration_code=<CODE>
Is there something you an recommend I can change in the form to make it accept the pre-fill information?
The form does work well if filled in on the screen and sends emails etc.. so it does function well, I just can not get the pre-fill accepted. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mycontac Site Admin
Joined: 31 Dec 2003 Posts: 2860
|
Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 5:44 am Post subject: Reply |
|
|
Simply sending variables via the URL string will not automatically make a form fill out. What you are seeking to do is a little more complicated and would require some knowledge of either Javascript or a server side scripting language (like PHP, ASP). My personal experience is with PHP, so this is what I would personally use. I'd embed PHP code on the page contain the form. The thought process would go something like this:
1. Assign local variables from the global GET array (the array that holds the values set in the URL string).
2. Sanitize each of these values to make sure they fit an expected value. Basically check to make sure that someone didn't edit the URL string and change the values manually.
3. Echo the variables into the text boxes of the form. The values would be printed to the 'value' parameter of the appropriate input box on the form.
Hopefully this helps.
Nick Ladd
myContactForm.com |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
storworks
Joined: 20 Sep 2011 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Sat Jan 12, 2013 1:53 pm Post subject: Pre filling form from applicaton does not work |
|
|
I do not understand the suggestions.
Would you be willing to do the work for a fee?
I have an application written in C#, when a user enters their license information I want to open a simular from on our web site at www.storworks.com/registration.html and would like to auto submit the form but that is depending on capability, the goal is to get the form filled in.
Thanks,
Rich |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mycontac Site Admin
Joined: 31 Dec 2003 Posts: 2860
|
Posted: Sat Jan 12, 2013 8:08 pm Post subject: Re: Pre filling form from applicaton does not work |
|
|
richlang wrote: |
I do not understand the suggestions.
Would you be willing to do the work for a fee?
I have an application written in C#, when a user enters their license information I want to open a simular from on our web site at www.storworks.com/registration.html and would like to auto submit the form but that is depending on capability, the goal is to get the form filled in.
Thanks,
Rich |
Unfortunately, I do not have availability at this time to take on new work.
Nick Ladd
myContactForm.com |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|